# Virginia Bicentennial of the American War of 1812 Commission



House Room C
General Assembly Building
Richmond, Virginia

Monday, June 7, 2010 10:00 a.m.

## PROPOSED AGENDA: <u>ADVISORY COUNCIL WORK SESSION</u>

- 1. Call to order—Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman
- 2. Introduction of Advisory Council members and preliminary remarks—Chairman
- 3. In Memoriam: Mr. William W. Hankins (Moment of Silence)

## 4. Staff Briefing

Deed of Personal Conveyance

Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

o Facebook

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney, Division of Legislative Services

o Website

Ms. Jessica Ruark, Art Director, Division of Legislative Automated Systems

 Brochure Work Group, Advisory Council Assignments for OpSail 2012, and Joint Rules Committee Request

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate, Division of Legislative Services

#### 5. Presentations

NPS War of 1812 Bicentennial Update

Ms. Suzanne E. Copping

Project Manager, Star-Spangled Banner National Historic Trail, National Park Service

War of 1812 Bicentennial in Alexandria, Virginia

Mr. James Bartlinski

Historic Site Administrator, Carlyle House Historic Park, Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority, Alexandria, VA

War of 1812 Heritage Trail

Kelly Spradley-Kurowski, PhD

Supervisory Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

o OpSail 2012

Ms. Karen Scherberger

Executive Director, Norfolk Festevents, Ltd./OpSail 2012 Virginia

## 6. Advisory Council Discussion

- Proposed Bibliography
  - Dr. Stuart L. Butler, Advisory Council Member
- Star Spangled Banner Trail for Hampton Roads
  - Mr. Steven Forrest, Advisory Council Member
  - Mr. John Brewer Moore, Advisory Council Member
- Stars and Stripes: U.S. Flag from 1798-1818
  - Mr. John Brewer Moore, Advisory Council Member
- The Defenders of Maryland in the War of 1812, Fort McHenry Database
   Peter Broadbent, War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission Member

## 7. Advisory Council Recommendations to Bicentennial Commission

- 8. Other Business
- 9. Directions to Staff
- 10. Next Meeting
- 11. Adjournment

#### **Advisory Council Members**

Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Chairman

Mr. Robert Barretta

Mr. Phillip Bigler

Mr. Stuart L. Butler

Mr. Walter W. Craigie

Mr. Michael J. Elston

Mr. Phillip G. Emerson

Mr. Patrick Farris

Mr. Steven A. Forrest

Admiral Robert Fountain

Mr. Carter B. S. Furr

Ms. Mary Hackett

Mr. Thadeus L. Hartman

Mrs. Anne Winn Hoffman

Ms. Carolyn Coggin Holmes

Mr. Myron E. Lyman, Sr.

Mr. John C. Maxwell

Mr. John Brewer Moore

Mr. James D. Parrish, Jr.

Mr. J. Ridgely Porter, III

Mr. John Quarstein

Dr. James H. Ryan

Dr. Taylor Sanders Mrs. Connie Schroeder

Dr. Holly C. Shulman

Mrs. Courtenay T. Stanley

Mr. George William Thomas, Jr.

#### **Ex Officio**

Delegate M. Kirkland Cox, Commission Chairman

#### Staff

Ms. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate

Mr. Jeffrey F. Sharp, Senior Attorney

Ms. Rebecca Young, Staff Attorney

Ms. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant

Ms. Barbara Teague, House Committee Clerk